Summer school 2013

The Centre for Small State Studies at the University of Iceland holds an intensive two week summer course sponsored by an Erasmus grant, focusing on small states and the European integration process. The course brings together some of the best scientists in the field of small states studies who have a combined knowledge in various disciplines such as political science, economics, history, public policy and sociology. In the summer of 2013 the focus will be on small states, integration and globalization. A programme draft will soon be available.

The Small States Summer School 2013 will be held from Monday, June 24th until Saturday, July 6, concluding with an exam.

Icelandic students should apply directly through the Central Registration Office at the University of Iceland (Nemendaskrá). The registration number for the course is: STJ 404M

International students from the seventeen partner universities listed below must apply directly through their own universities (contact person listed below). Each partner university nominates one or two students to participate in the program. Travel and accommodations are paid for by the program for these students.

Partner institutions and contact persons are:

Manchester Metropolitan University in the UK – Clive Archer
Lund University in Sweden – Annica Young Kronsell
University College of Södertörn in Sweden – Ann-Catherine Jungar
University of Malta – Isabelle Calleja
Vilnius University in Lithuania – Mindaugas Jurkynas
University of Copenhagen in Denmark – Anders Wivel
University College Cork in Ireland – Andrew Cottey
Limerick University in Ireland – Peadar Kirby
University of Ljubljana in Slovenia – Jernej Pikalo
Leiden University in the Netherlands – Richard Griffiths
University of Economics in Bratislava, Slovakia – Boris Mattos
Tallinn University of Technology in Estonia – Tiina Randma-Liiv
University of St. Andrews in Scotland – Ian Taylor
University of Luxembourg – Patrick Dumont
University of Aberdeen – Patrick Bernhagen
Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Poland- Maria Marczewska-Rytko
Gediz University of Turkey- Cigdem Ustun

International students from other Universities can apply to the 2012 Small States Summer School using the form Summer School Application Form. Students can send their CV’s and a short description of why they are interested in the Summer School Program by mailing directly to They will receive an application form. Please note that no grants are available to students from non-partner universities and the Centre for Small State Studies cannot provide visa support services to students from outside the EEA/Schengen area. The deadline for applications is May 15, 2012.

The program is open to students at both the undergraduate and graduate level from any country. Students outside of the partner schools listed below must cover their own expenses. The cost of attendance for the summer school is €650 which includes tuition and fees.

General Description

The objective of the programme is to focus on the differing approaches of small states to integration and globalization. During the two weeks we will look at the possible influence of small states in the international community, how small states can cope with the challenges of globalization whether they are categorized as positive or negative effects, and look at different case studies to detect patterns and realize what theories are at play.

Course Requirements
All students must have full command of the English language. Students are expected to be familiar with the main outlines of the European Union’s institutional structure and policy areas prior to the course. Students must also read the required reading assignment by each teacher.

Course Evaluation
B.A. students: Journal (50%, 10-12 pages), Written examination (50%).
M.A. student: Journal (50%, 18-20 pages), Written examination (50%).
During the course, the students will be expected to attend all sessions and to undertake the reading assignments. There will be a written examination at the end of the course.

Credits/Learning outcome
The course counts as eight ECTS towards undergraduate and graduate studies. Qualification for the ECTS requires participants to attend all parts of the course. The home university may require additional coursework to make credits up to the number required by the home university for their own academic degree requirement.

What is the ECTS?
The ECTS system was developed by the European Commission in order to prove common procedures to guarantee academic recognition. This system gives student an opportunity to transfer learning achievements from one university to another but also it provides a way of measuring and comparing these learning achievements. To give example of the ECTS scales an average course load for an academic year is 60 ECTS.

Each partner University nominates two students to participate in the course and those students receive a travel and accommodation grant from ERASMUS. Those nominated students must take care of planning their travel to and from Iceland but the Centre for Small State Studies will reimburse the air tickets of students coming from Europe. The Centre also covers the cost of accommodation for the duration of the course. Accommodation is arranged in guesthouses in Reykjavík. The rooms are booked from the night before the school begins until the night after the course. Other students than those who are specifically nominated by the partner Universities are welcome to apply directly to the Centre for Small State Studies ( but they will have to take care of their own expenses, flights and accommodation.